RSS Feed

General Synod election results

Published: 14th October 2021

The General Synod election has now closed and the votes have been counted.

As Presiding Officer, Diocesan Secretary John Preston said:

"Again, the turn out figures show that more than half of the electorate have voted, and the online election system seems to have worked well.  I am sure the whole diocese will join me in congratulating the successful candidates, and in wishing them well as they represent us at the General Synod."

The new representatives from the Diocese of Worcester to the General Synod for the next five years are:

House of Laity

  • Kashmir Garton
  • Robin Lunn
  • Lynn Nichol

Papers Issued: 281
Papers returned: 136
Spoilt papers: 0
Percentage poll: 48.4%

Here are the full Return of Election Result and voting figures for the House of Laity elections.

House of Clergy

  • Nikki Groarke
  • Claire Lording
  • Fraser Oates

Papers Issued: 162
Papers returned: 98
Spoilt papers: 0
Percentage poll: 60.49%

Here are the full Return of Election Result and voting figures for the Proctors in Convocation.

House of Bishops

As a diocesan bishop, Bishop John is a member of the House of Bishops and an ex-officio member of General Synod. 

Bishop Martin has also been elected as one of the five southern suffragans to serve on General Synod as part of the House of Bishops.

See the full list of candidates for the 2021 General Synod elections.

Page last updated: Wednesday 20th October 2021 9:37 AM
Powered by Church Edit