Leadership and Governance

The Church is led by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York and 106 other bishops. They provide guidance and direction to the churches across the country and make decisions on the Church in society. The General Synod is an assembly of bishops, clergy and laity, and creates the laws of the Church. The seven National Church Institutions work together to support the mission and ministries of the Church.

From the General Synod to the smallest advisory committee, the diocese is served by a number of boards, committees and working groups.

Use the links below to find out about each one.

General Synod

The national assembly of the Church of England.

Diocesan Synod

The Diocesan Synod is a body formed of the Bishops of the Diocese along with elected representatives of clergy and lay people from across the Diocese.

Bishop's Council

The standing committee for the Diocesan Synod and its members are directors of the Worcester Diocesan Board of Finance (WDBF) Limited Company.

Vacancy in See Committee

The Vacancy in See Committee is a standing committee of the Diocesan Synod, but only becomes active when the retirement of a diocesan bishop is announced.

Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC)

The Diocesan Advisory Committee for the Care of Churches (DAC) is the diocesan committee required within the Faculty process and appointed by the Bishop, to act as an advisory body on matters affecting places of worship in the diocese.

Diocesan Board of Education (DBE)

The Worcester Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) oversees the work of the Diocesan Education team.

Powered by Church Edit