Commission for Social Responsibility (CSR)

Commission for Social Responsibility

Currently the Diocese of Worcester focuses its engagement with with social, community, economic and rural affairs through a Commission for Social Responsibility (CSR).

It is therefore particularly concerned to work with the seventh of the diocese's Kingdon People characteristics: "ready to engage with and serve our community".

The CSR is presently focussing its attention on working to support parishes and communities which score highly on many indices of deprivation and poverty. It seeks to keep a watching brief on a much wider range of issues, including criminal justice and health and well-being.

Mission in the Economy

The lead officers from three specialist ecumenical teams are also part of the CSR. They represent ways in which the diocese engages in the economic life of Worcestershire and the Black Country, and also in the care of people in their working lives. These teams are:

  • Faith at Work in Worcestershire (FWW)
  • The Black Country Urban Industrial Mission (BCUIM)
  • The Committee for Agricultural and Rural Life (CARL)

Parish Engagement

The work of community engagement at the parish and deanery level is key to the life of the diocese as well as of the local community. CSR is always pleased to hear of local projects, and the Mission Development Officer, Doug Chaplin, seeks to be available to support and encourage local work, to help find seed funding, to establish partnerships, and to promote the sharing of good practice.


Members are mainly elected as representatives from each deanery. Some are co-opted because of their expertise or experience. The Chair is Professor Michael Taylor, Emeritus Professor of Social Theology, Birmingham University.

  • Vera Birch
  • Doug Chaplin
  • John Chidlow
  • Diana Fulbrook
  • Angela Green
  • Paul Harrison
  • David Hawkins
  • Barry Humphrey
  • Phillip Jones
  • Rose Lawley
  • Bill Mash (Black Country Urban Industrial Mission)
  • Judith Oliver
  • Alvyn Pettersen
  • Helen Perry
  • Michael Taylor (Chair)
  • Jo Williamson (Secretary)
  • Frances Wookey
  • Nick Wright

Page last updated: 4th June 2020 10:14 AM
Bookmark and Share